Website Optimization Ideas & Suggestions

starburst

Hey everyone! I'm fairly new to the VPS scene and had just switched from a shared host plan to KnownHost earlier this month.

Quick About:
We run a forum that deals with certain weather events that can see a big peek in activity 3-4 times a day and even more if severe weather looks imminent. We are growing rapidly. We have the SSD-02 plan. We've got everything setup on Xenforo and I've done a bit of configuration to save resources. Everything so far, has been okay with memory & cpu usage from my end. Great load times, etc.

My Question:

What would you guys suggest to really optimize our forum? We have cloudflare which seems to help, and I had configured my Xenforo configuration file to use basic from caching of:

Code:
$config['cache']['enabled'] = true;
$config['cache']['frontend'] = 'Core';
$config['cache']['frontendOptions']['cache_id_prefix'] = 'xf_';

and on the backend:
Code:
$config['cache']['backend'] = 'File';

From what I have been reading, we shouldn't be using disk based caching at all? And also, this PHP FPM thing I keep hearing about? Again, I'm new to this and I just want to get everything setup to be the most optimized as possible. I am not too comfortable with installing software on the VPS and risking breaking our site as it's active for the most part around the clock. We use Apache currently.

I thought posting here would be a better idea than opening a ticket. Thanks guys!

You've taken some pretty good steps so far, but we definitely want to get rid of that file-based cache.

I assume you're running PHP 7 already? It immensely speeds up XF. I'd recommend adding APCu which will let you use "apc" as the backend cache - it's purely memory-based.