is it safe to......

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by reyes, May 14, 2008.

  1. reyes

    reyes New Member

    is it save to just delete where it says in maintenance the backup? I mean mine is saying 2.06 Gb Full and I want to press re-new backup but not sure if it will bugger anything up.

    Cheers
     
  2. reyes

    reyes New Member

    OK no worries I have put a ticket in asking.
     
  3. KH-Paul

    KH-Paul CTO Staff Member

    reyes,

    It might not be 100% safe to delete the backups you're seeing in the Maintenance section of your power panel as if physical server where your VPS is hosted should die right after backup is removed we won't be able to restore your VPS. In general you shouldn't even worry about removal of VPS backups as we do rotate them automatically once new backups gets created.
     
  4. BAlGaInTl

    BAlGaInTl New Member

    It may not be 100% safe, but I have found it 100% necessary a couple of times.

    I agree with this... however, I'm still new to the VPS scene (relatively) and before I make a big change, I like to have a very recent full backup. I can not do this from the control panel since backups are always listed as "full" unless you delete all automated backups.

    How about a way to allow for one user initiated backup in addition to the automated backups? Or maybe at least one incremental in addition to the automated full backup.

    Thoughts?
     
  5. computervitals

    computervitals New Member

    I have done this from time to time.

    Just because,, no reason for it...
     

Share This Page