Spammers wrecking havoc on the site!

prasham

Hi Guys,

I am using shared hosting services here. I am administrator of a environmental discussion forum www.its2hot.in.

Problem is that few spammers have taken over and somehow I am unable to load the index page of the forum. Rest all the internal pages work fine.

Can someone please help.

Prasham

Hi you are using phpbb. Have you gone through phpbb MOD database?
there are a lot of good mods in there which can help you.
I use phpbb2, vbulletin , smf I have a lot of experience.
I know a lot of tricks to keep the spammers away from phpbb2 but do not know about mods for phpbb3.
perhaps you should visit phpbb forum.

I will see if I can find you some good mods! and if you need help with installation. I can do it. I know phpbb very well.

But please let me know what you mean by spammers ?
Do you mean they send a lot of ad posts in your forum?

Don't allow just anyone that applies to be a member.

Require email verification, administrator verification, or CAPTCHA verification for membership.

I just checked your site and it came up for me so perhaps you got your other problem fixed.

Prasham this was the mod we used to use before switching to vBulletin, it is for the previous version of phpbb so I am not 100% sure if it would be usable for your forum.

If you're using phpBB2, I know of at least one mod that worked wonders in stopping spambots. It essentially adds a 'human' question to the registration form that you can customize. "What is 4+5?", "What does M Y S I T E spell?", etc.

phpBB3 has been pretty good with stopping spammers on its own, though you can use mods to enhance its security as well.

Guys its happening again! Please help me.

Somebody on PHPbb forum said that this is due to malfunction of server and not the software!

Your comment is rather broad based - and you have not responded to ANY suggestions by other members here.

Broad based?