Newbie questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

riversr54

I've just started working with a gentleman who owns a domain name that was hosted on KnownHost. Due to a previous employee leaving, we now have little or no knowledge of how things were setup and how to gain access to our server on KnownHost. We have managed to obtain a 'root' password and an account and password. I assume that the account/password is for gaining access to services on the KnownHost web site but it does not work. I am new to the world of VPS so I'm not sure how to gain access to our server. I assume there must be an IP address that I use to access the server and get logged in to the cPanel. I DON'T have an IP address so I seem to be stuck. The person who owns the account(which I'm working with) is not computer literate so he is not much help. Can anyone provide me with any information, i.e. a user's manual, anything that will help me get started.

We have a support ticket logged with KnownHost but haven't been able to get the info we need for accessing our VPS. Any guidance/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

riversr54