Monitoring Service

kal670

Hi, I am new to VPS and am searching the forums to try to learn. I just read the following:

You can use a monitoring service to alert you if your VPS goes down such as hyperspin.com but the responsiblity is on you to alert KnownHost if there is an issue with your specific VPS(such as Apache going down) etc. etc.
Does this mean that if my VPS goes down in the middle of the night that nothing will happen until I discover it the next day and email support? Even with a monitoring service I wouldn't read my email until the morning.

This is not something I am accustomed to worrying having come from a shared Reseller server.

What experiences have any of you had with your VPS going down (I would hope this would be a rare occurrence) and what are your recommendations?

I am a web developer and host sites for many of my clients (I don't offer hosting to the general public) and want to be sure there are no lengthy down times. On my old reseller account problems were caught right away and if I ever noticed anything it was usually resolved before I could even contact support. I was hoping to have the same experience on a managed VPS server. Was I wrong in assuming what "managed" VPS means?

Hi, I am new to VPS and am searching the forums to try to learn. I just read the following:

Does this mean that if my VPS goes down in the middle of the night that nothing will happen until I discover it the next day and email support? Even with a monitoring service I wouldn't read my email until the morning.

This is not something I am accustomed to worrying having come from a shared Reseller server.

What experiences have any of you had with your VPS going down (I would hope this would be a rare occurrence) and what are your recommendations?