Disappointed and deflated :(

tremane

Well, despite the encouraging pre-sales and testimonials online, I don't know whether our company will be staying with knownhost ... and this is only after 24 hours :(.

I explained to sales that I was a complete newbie, only been on shared hosting with our site that is now too large for shared and expanding. I was told that cpanel was pretty easy and that all I'd have to do to re-set up our site was "grab all the files, databases you need and then via FTP you can upload it to the VPS".

Nothing could be further from that and I was a little overwhelmed when I logged on and the cpanel looked nothing like the demo I'd tested. I requested support and although the responses have been immensely quick, I did complain about the content as again sales had told me "If you have questions just let support know while doing the backup's, etc. The SMF I would also discuss with support as I am unsure on that.". I was told that by support knownhost don't support third party application set-up, so that rules out help with migrating SMF and our online shop. I was rather hoping for the support promised by sales for the migration, particularly as it wasn't as straight forward as I thought.

Don't get me wrong, your support staff responded quickly and were polite but not very helpful and didn't seem to want to spend any time guiding me through the process. I was however given a link to tutorials on cpanel/WHM, which had the following advice "We expect you have some knowledge of what cpanel actually is and know a bit about server administration" :rolleyes:. Perhaps sales should actually include a link to that too? I've obviously also put support's noses out of joint as they didn't reply to my last email ... and agreed (wholeheartedly I get the impression) that perhaps I should take the 30 day option ...

So what to now? Such a disappointment :(

Hello,