Backup script for Amazon S3 using cPanel backups, encryption, and logging

Dan

This is a post that will show the tools I use and the script I run to create four rotating encrypted backups to Amazon S3 with logging.

With the original script you would receive the log email sent via cPanel's backup script. Now that log is written locally with additional logging and then sent. This script will also encrypt your backups using GPG before uploading.

I am by no means an expert so if you use or run across something you think will work better then please let us know or even if you have an idea of how to improve the backup script please speak up! :D

Requirements
An Amazon web services account with S3 enabled. If you have an Amazon account already it gets tied to that. If not then you can always sign up for one.
Apache compiled with Curl and Curlssl (openssl). This is done using Easyapache in WHM. NOTE: For some reason even though I had Curl and Curlssl compiled ssl access did not work on my server. I ended up having to remove Curl using Yum and then install it from source. Not sure what is going to happen when I go to recompile Apache again but I'm giving you a heads up is all.
GnuGPG. This should be installed on your server already. If you upgrade it from source be sure to remove it using Yum and add it to the exclude list else you will have multiple versions.
Tim Kay's AWS script. This is a script written in Perl (should also be already installed) to allow access to S3 using Curl. Here is the link for it on the Amazon developer's site too.

Preparation