PHP 5 upgrade

SonicGT

I just got my account set up last week, upgraded sql through cpanel but still have 4 of php. I was wanting to upgrade it to the latest 5.x can I do this through cpanel, or do I just do the normal download and install/compile info I find on the php website. If so do I have to do anything with apache afterwords to make it all work right?
Also looking to use APC cache rather than zend.
Any help is appreciated.

Hello Sonic,

WHM has a script built in for Apache/PHP management. You can run it from the command line as well but I'll just put a screenie here so you can see where it is and some of the options.

I have no idea if you can disable Zend. I've been using CPanel/WHM for a few years now and I have never seen where you could.

Hope this helps,

Dan

Attachments

• WHMcut.jpg
    WHMcut.jpg
    53.4 KB · Views: 33
Hello Sonic,

WHM has a script built in for Apache/PHP management. You can run it from the command line as well but I'll just put a screenie here so you can see where it is and some of the options.

I have no idea if you can disable Zend. I've been using CPanel/WHM for a few years now and I have never seen where you could.

Hope this helps,

Dan

Cool based on your screenshot I see what you can do, but can't seem to find how to get to that in cpanel/whm.
I checked the addon scripts and such and its just normal apps in there?
Which option is that in your screenshot

*edit* nevermind found it under apache update

Sonic,

This screen can be found at WHM >> Software >> Apache update. Two things about upgrade to PHP 5:
- Make sure to uncheck the "Skip Apache Build if up to date" option at the bottom of the screen. I've seen many cases when Apache fails to start after verrsion change due to missing / incompatible modules;